Smiler :)

“a warm smile is the universal language of kindness” – William Arthur Ward

I understand that not every minute of every day you will be happy. There will be occasions when you are feeling down. However, I simply can’t understand the lack of friendliness around where I live. 

Some people are naturally chatty and will strike up a conversation with everyone and anyone. I am not one of those people. However, I am one of those people who smile at others and wish them a good morning. 

I usually get one of three responses:

  1. The person makes eye contact, then looks at their shoes and hurriedly walks past
  2. The person looks at me with a confused expression on their face
  3. The person smiles at me and also wishes me a good morning. 

The response I take most harshly is actually the second one, because people seem confused that I, a 17 year old girl, am wishing them well. Instead they deem me to be another teenager, glued to my phone, incapable of conversation and never saying good morning unless I have hidden bad intentions. 

Many people look down on today’s younger generation for being addicted to their devices, but I honestly try to be open, especially whilst out and about. 

So just bear in mind that a smile goes a long way. 

Leave a Reply

